Canada Emergency Measures Organization.—This Organization was established in June 1967 to co-ordinate civil emergency planning at the federal level. An Order in Council, effective Sept. 1, 1959, completely revised assignments in the field of civil emergency planning giving responsibilities to 15 departments and agencies of government and giving responsibility, under the Prime Minister, for co-ordination to the Emergency Measures Organization. By Order in Council PC 1963-993 the powers, duties and functions of the Prime Minister relating to civil defence and control of the Emergency Measures Organization were transferred to the Minister of Defence Production. In June 1965, previous Orders were revoked and replaced by the Civil Emergency Measures Planning Order PC 1965-1041, which schedules civil emergency powers, duties and functions to 12 federal departments and four agencies. The Planning Order directs that the Minister of Industry, through the Emergency Measures Organization, shall develop policies and a program to ensure continuity of government in an emergency; co-ordinate civil emergency planning and training by departments and agencies of the Government of Canada; plan, in conjunction with provincial authorities, for the control of civil road transport in an emergency; plan civil emergency measures in respect to matters which are not the responsibility of any department, agency or Crown corporation of the Government; provide assistance and guidance to provincial and municipal governments in civil emergency planning matters; provide general liaison with other countries and with NATO on matters relating to civil Defence College. In June 1965, the name of the Organization was changed to Canada Emergency Measures Organization and the name of the college to Canadian Emergency Measures College.

Canadian Government Printing Bureau.—The printing functions formerly provided by the Department of Public Printing and Stationery were transferred by Order in Council (PC 1963-1254) dated Aug. 21, 1963, to the Department of Defence Production. The latter Department, on Apr. 1, 1964, authorized the organization of the Canadian Government Printing Bureau as a distinct function under that Department, to be separated from the former Publications Branch and the Purchasing Stationery and Stores Branch of the Department of Public Printing and Stationery.

The Canadian Government Printing Bureau, under the direction of a General Manager, provides a variety of printing services, such as House of Commons Debates, Votes and Proceedings, Orders of the Day and other parliamentary papers for both Houses of Parliament, and other printing requirements of government departments and agencies. The main plant is located in Hull, Que.; smaller field units are located in the Ottawa area and in other major centres to handle the duplicating requirements of individual government departments.

Canadian Penitentiary Service.—The Penitentiary Service operates under the Penitentiary Act (SC 1960-61, c. 53) and is under the jurisdiction of the Solicitor General of Canada. It is responsible for all federal penitentiary institutions and for the care and training of persons sentenced or committed thereto. The Commissioner of Penitentiaries, under the direction of the Solicitor General, has control and management of the Service and all matters connected therewith.

Canadian Pension Commission.—This Commission, established in 1933 by amendments to the Pension Act (RSC 1952, c. 207), replaced the Board of Pension Commissioners, the first organization created to deal solely with war pensions for service in Canada's Armed Forces. The Commission's main function is the administration of the Pension Act under which it adjudicates upon all claims for pension in respect of disability or death arising out of service in Canada's Armed Forces; and Parts I to X inclusive of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act, which provide for the payment of pensions in respect of death or disability arising out of civilian service directly related to the prosecution of World War II. It also adjudicates on claims for pension under various other measures; authorizes and pays monetary grants accompanying certain gallantry awards bestowed on members of the Armed Forces; and administers various trust funds established by private individuals for the benefit of veterans and their dependants. The Commission consists of eight to twelve Commissioners and up to five ad hoc Commissioners appointed by the Governor in Council. Its chairman has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and the Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Department of Defence Production.—The Department of Defence Production was established in April 1951 by the Defence Production Act (SC 1951, c. 4—now the Defence Production Act, RSC 1952, c. 62, as amended by SC 1955, c. 52). It has exclusive authority for the procurement of goods and services required by the Department of National Defence and, in addition, has the responsibility for ensuring that necessary production capacity and materials are available in Canada to support the defence production program. Measures for which the Department is responsible include defence equipment export activities, the establishment of arrangements with the United States and other friendly countries for co-operative efforts in defence industrial research, development and production, and the management of Canadian participation in the co-operative endeavours of the NATO Armaments Committee.

On Sept. 4, 1963, the Government gave to the Department the responsibility for implementing certain recommendations of the Royal Commission on Government Organization relating to the formation of a central purchasing and supply agency. In essence this required that the existing structure of the Department be gradually reshaped in order to accept the function of procurement on behalf of all civilian departments and agencies other than commercially oriented Crown corpora-